1.3.- How to be single (and poor)

Dear Diary:

The situation have been improving slowly. I made a habit of going in a scavenger hunt around the island to sell stuff in the local market. That doesn’t give me too much time to chill but I can do it when I have saved some money. By the end of the week, I had three blackberry bushes and I bought a sink and a small dinning set, so, I don’t have to keep eating in the bed.

13

I’m was feeling optimistic about the situation. Now that I had some kitchen appliances, I could practice my cooking before going to work, which was improving my development… That until the night the boss asked me to give the bartender a hand. What? I’d never pour a drink in my life! Well, not a fancy one at least but it seems like this is going to be my new job for the next weeks. Great.

I had to improve and quickly if I didn’t wanted to get fired, so, I stayed a little longer and while the rest of the staff where cleaning and closing, I had a chance to practice my mixing skills. The bartender gave me some advice on my technique, so I don’t make a fool of myself. I could have been worst, I guess.

14

Back home, I found the sink was broken. I didn’t have money to buy a new one, so, guess who’s going to have to learn plumbing? I guess I’ll be useful someday.

15

During the weekend, Mila invited me to hang out at The Blue Velvet. It’s a nice place, you can enjoy a good chat and a decent drink. Mila is an awesome woman, struggling a little with their children, but she always keeps a smile in her face. I should learn more from her, she promises to be a great friend.

16

When the music started, I couldn’t avoid to dance. I’d been so stressed lately that I needed it to shake it off. I didn’t care at all about looking like a fool, I was having fun. It was there when I saw him. His name is Travis, he’s blond, tall, blue eyes, and he’s actually real cute. We started to talk a bit while dancing and he didn’t had to put much effort to made me laugh. He’s a very funny guy.

17

18

After a while, we decided to step out of the dance floor, and go somewhere where we could talk. We ended up in the little garden of the bar. We laid on the floor stargazing while we talked about nonsense. He told me he’s a tech guru and he wants to be like this famous guy, Steve Jobs. He seems to be enough self-assured to get it.  We mostly gossiped about the neighbors, but I have to admit I really like this guy. If I had the time and the money, I might date him. But right now I have to focus, so, better to be single. I can’t afford any distractions.

19

One thought on “1.3.- How to be single (and poor)”

Leave a Reply

